Programme


Monday 16 January 2017

Tuck into Twiddles and Fiddles with Jennie Rayment

From tucking, pleating, weaving, twiddling and fiddling, marvel at the wealth of ideas and designs that arise from simple folding techniques. Click here to visit Jennie's website. 

Monday 20 February 2017

Practical in-house evening

Monday 20 March 2017

Saori Weaving with Amanda Edney

An introduction to the wonderful, colourful world of Saori: a form of weaving originating from Japan, which emphasises individuality and creativity.

Monday 10 April 2017

Hedebo with Jette Finlay Heath

Discover the beautiful and fascinating skill of Danish White Work. Jetta will describe the evolving six techniques of this less known attractive art 'Hedebo Embroidery'.

Monday 15 May 2017

Russian Metal Thread Embroidery with Pamela Smith

Metal thread has featured in Russian embroidery for centuries, on ecclesiastical textiles peasant dress and court robes. Click here to visit Pamela's website.

Monday 19 June 2017

Old Walls and Painted Halls with Maggie Grey

Based on architecture ranging from the wonders of Southern Spain's Moorish influence to the Gothic splendour of the Sainte Chapelle in Paris, this talk looks at the details of such sites as the Alcazar in Seville, the Great Mosque at Cordoba and the Alhambra in Granada through wall paintings in China to the Art Nouveau grandeur of the Watts Chapel and the exotic images of Marrakech. It goes on to show how this inspiration can be used in embroidery, covering both design and stitch from various artists. Click here to visit Maggie's website.

Monday 17 July 2017

Sew About It: Our Inspirations with Jill Rose Brennan

Our lives are rich with inspiration all around us. There will be comments about Jill Rose's 'journey' which she hopes will lead to ideas for others!

Monday 18 September  2017

Practical in-house evening

Monday 16 October 2017

Annual General Meeting and much more!

Monday 20 November 2017

Patterns in Sandstone and Silk with Jennifer Hughes

A look at the textiles of Cambodia that echo the carved pictures at the Khmer temple complex at Angkor.

Monday 11 December 2017

Christmas Social